Oakman School News

Last Week to Nominate Teachers. Print form from below.

Last Week To Nominate Your Favorite Teacher Today!

Click and print below. Hand in to the Office.

 Teacher nomination sheet 2014

      Friday, April 11, 2014 is the last day to nominate your favorite Dearborn Public Schools teacher to be selected as the 2013-14 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year.  Entry forms can be filled out on-line at https://dearbornschools.org/toy  or can be downloaded at the same website, can be picked up at any Dearborn public school and the district’s Administration Office, 18700 Audette.


“We want to make the nomination process as simple as possible because we want to encourage all students to nominate their favorite teachers,” said Chamber Education Committee Chair Stefanie Stover.


Hard-copy nomination forms can be dropped off or mailed to the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Avenue, Dearborn, MI  48124, or fax to (313) 584-9818. Adults may assist students when necessary but no more than two teachers can be nominated per student.


      Students can nominate new or veteran teachers whom they feel have made outstanding contributions to the teaching profession.  Preschool through fifth-grade students are asked to describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun.  Middle school students (grades 6-8) will need to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life. Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be successful beyond high school. Applications will be assessed on quality of the nomination, not on the number received. Award judges are members of the Dearborn Chamber Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers’ names.


One winner from pre-K through 2nd grade, 3rd-5th grade, middle, and high school will be announced at a special ceremony, Wednesday, May 14, 2014, at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center. The Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Award is sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce.


Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are being recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences. Teachers selected receive a $1,000 cash prize, a plaque commemorating their achievement, and will be part of a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching.


“The teachers in our classrooms are true professionals, dedicated to their craft and to the academic success of their students. This award is a great way for our students to honor and thank their teachers,” commented Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Mr. Brian Whiston.